A New Meaning To The Word Ace

“In times of great stress or adversity, it’s always best to keep busy, to plow your anger and your energy into something positive.”- Lee Iacocca

This is a great quote by someone that I admire as a great business mind. It is one of the main reasons I wanted to start this golfing challenge. I needed a new goal in my life and this was something that I could have in common with my family and friends who are golf obsessed.

My next lesson was to start watching the golf channel. Luckily when the Comcast guy was installing my cable he talked me into upgrading to the premium channels (it may have been so I could watch Bravo but that is besides the point). So I have unlimited access to the golf channel. This weekend I caught some of the Justin Timberlake Open held in Las Vegas. I didn’t realize how beautiful some of those golf courses are, even when you’re in the middle of the Nevada dessert. As far as the commentary aspect of the game I added a plethora of new terms to my golf dictionary. The most important term being ace which is a hole-in-one. Watching this shot on replay I saw Jonathan Byrd make an ace to win the tournament. To say the least it was a memorable win. According to the commentators this was the first sudden-death playoff win decided by an ace. Looks like it was a good day to start watching golf.

This entry was posted in Tournament Talk and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Meaning To The Word Ace

  1. Pingback: Golf Recap-2010 | Discovering The Game Of Golf

  2. Pingback: Golf Recap-2010 | Discovering The Game Of Golf

  3. Pingback: A Surprising 1st Round: Tournament of Champions | Discovering The Game Of Golf

Leave a Reply

