Tips For Beating The Heat On The Golf Course

Just in case the winter frost has fogged your memory of proper things to pack before heading out onto the course in the heat this should help. First and foremost water is vital to your survival on the course. Drink plenty of water before you get on and off the course and pack at least one water bottle in your bag. That’s the bare minimum but if your feeling like you need a bit more add a few more water bottles, some ice, and Gatorade or something to help give you back electrolytes.

If your just hitting the course after being confined to indoor spaces for the winter it’s a good idea to apply some sunscreen. Even if you’re not just reentering the outdoors after hibernation it’s still a good idea to lather up, not too much though your pores would still like to breathe.

As far as clothing goes if cotton is all you have to work with you will be fine. Try and stay away from heavy sun catching colors like black. Lightweight clothing is the obviously your best option so you’re not lugging around a heaving shirt and heavy golf bag. However, if you would like to be a little more comfortable use a moisture wicking shirt like Dri-Fit or Under Armour. Adding a hat to your golfing attire is a good way to keep the sun out of your face and let you see the course without too much distraction.

Bringing along an extra towel is also a good idea. Switching between a few different golf gloves or at least taking the glove off between shots is a good way to keep the longevity of your glove and cool off your hand.

With all that off your checklist you should be ready for a great round of golf.

This entry was posted in Instruction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tips For Beating The Heat On The Golf Course

  1. Just stumbled onto your blog. Good job. I always like to read writers who are as passionate about their own game as they are fans of the professionals.

    Keep up the good work, and keep’em in the short stuff.

  2. Thank you for you kind words! I try to keep a good mix a personal and professional golf related posts on the blog just to make things interesting.

  3. Troy Vayanos says:

    Nice article,

    I always carry at least one water bottle and sometimes 2 if it gets really hot here in Australia. Sunscreen as mentioned is always a must and I always like to put my collars up on my shirt to stop the sun getting at my shoulders and neck. Some fruit along the way is also a good idea.

    Cheers

  4. Dexter says:

    I just moved from Miami, FL to Phoenix, AZ. So basically I went from humid wet and sticky heat to a dry heat. Everyone says that the dry heat is better, but let’s face it. Hot is hot. The forecast for the next week calls for highs in the 100’s. But I still have to play. I’m addicted.

    I usually buy Gatorade and a big bottle of quality H20 the night before a round and freeze them. That way I am assured of having ice cold, liquid refreshments during my round. I rehydrate as well as replenish the electrolytes lost over the course of 18 holes of play.

    I know you’re not supposed to bring outside drinks and the such to the golf course, but literally, it’s a matter of life and death. My best friend and most frequent golf partner is a doctor and he tells me of the many stories of heatstroke that occur on the golf course. I don’t want that to happen to me. Plus it seems that the cart attendants aren’t as reliable during the summer months. Gotta do what I gotta do. Great article.

    • Thanks Dexter! I could imagine that you would need a Gatorade if your playing in that type of heat. We don’t have quiet that extreme of weather up here in the NW but I still think it’s important to cover all your bases.

Leave a comment