Close But Not Close Enough

Never have the stakes been so high at this tournament, I’m talking about the HSBC Tournament in Shanghai. Not since 1997 has there been more than one contender for the number 1 spot. Lee Westwood took his new role as #1 very seriously. Through the first days of the tournament he was only a stroke behind the leader. Unfortunately it stayed this way throughout the tournament. Coming down to the last putt it was a race to the finish. Molinari finished his game just as he started it, ahead of the pack.

Watching my first tournament I realized I will have to get used to the golfers commentary to themselves. I don’t think in any other sport they have so much yelling towards their own performance. Ok so I know that I’m new to golf but is this necessary? Every shot? Clearly the golf culture may take a bit to get used to.

This entry was posted in Tournament Talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment